Category Archives: Uncategorized

What happens if you get charged with disorderly conduct?

Three men fighting.

Facing Arrest for Disorderly Conduct

Being arrested for disorderly conduct may not seem like that big of a deal, and compared to kidnapping or murder, it isn’t. But the consequences and ramifications that these charges can bring about going forward could be devastating. No matter how minor the incident may seem to you, it should be taken seriously, and hiring a defense attorney should be the first action taken. 

Is disorderly conduct serious?

In the State of Florida, a disorderly conduct bond typically costs $100.00 per offense and the courts treats charges of disorderly conduct as a misdemeanor in the 2nd degree. Also referred to as “breach of peace”, the punishment for this second-degree misdemeanor can be a jail sentence of up 60 days or probation for 6 months as well as a fine of $500.00. 

A first-time offense will typically see less than the 60 days maximum, depending on other factors. The factors that can lead to the maximum 60 days jail time are: 

  • Disrespectful actions towards law enforcement
  • Concerns of legitimate endangerment to the public 
  • The involvement of alcohol or drugs

The biggest risk for a first-time offender with a disorderly conduct charge is the creation of a permanent criminal record. For a repeat offender or a person who already has an extensive criminal history, jail time is far more likely.

What are examples of disorderly conduct?

Specific actions can be deemed disorderly conduct. The most common actions include:

  • Disturbance of the peace. 
  • Fighting and other physical altercations
  • Inciting a riot
  • Loitering in restricted or certain areas
  • Loud or unreasonable noise
  • Obstructing traffic
  • Use of abusive language or obscenities

If a disorderly conduct charge is classified as a first-degree misdemeanor, the subject could face a year of imprisonment. Additionally, disorderly conduct for inciting a riot can be categorized as a 3rd-degree felony in Florida and, if convicted, can lead to a possible one-year prison term. 

Does disorderly conduct stay on your record?

Absolutely.  A misdemeanor or felony conviction will never drop off your record. Once you’ve been charged and convicted, you have created a criminal record for life. In the State of Florida, you will not qualify to have your case sealed or expunged either. 

Does disorderly conduct affect background checks?

Federal and state laws allow arrests not convicted within the last seven years to appear in a criminal background check. This is true whether or not it affects a prospective employer’s decision to hire a subject, as long as they are conforming to the guidelines set in place by the EEOC (Equal Employment Opportunity Commission).

A misdemeanor criminal conviction can be included in a criminal background check, including any pending case. A misdemeanor is subjected to a jail time of a possible 15 days up to one year in a local jail. Fines and probation are also possible, including community service.

Examples of misdemeanor charges that may show on background checks in Florida include: 

  • Disorderly Conduct
  • Public Intoxication
  • Trespassing 
  • Vandalism

Can you be charged with disorderly conduct in your own home?

Most likely not, but disorderly conduct laws in Florida are somewhat vague. With that being stated, it’s recommended that any individual facing charges obtain the services of a criminal defense attorney with experience in disorderly conduct charges. 

The State of Florida refers to disorderly conduct as a “breach of the peace,” and because of this uses the law to regulate individuals’ conduct in public, but not in homes. However, if the disorderly conduct was outside of the home, this could be considered a breach of peace. A misdemeanor charge can stem from a public argument or public intoxication if the conduct took place outside of the home. 

What is the difference between disorderly conduct vs disturbing the peace?

Under Florida state laws, the two are one and the same. Both are categorized as a “breach of peace”. Both are also considered sufficient to “corrupt the public morals”, “outrage the sense of public decency”, and potentially “affect the peace and quiet of persons”. This could include a brawl or fight. 

Again, because disorderly conduct or breach of peace laws are so vague and can go from a 2nd-degree to a 1st-degree misdemeanor charge so easily, the experience of a defense attorney is recommended. 

Man in handcuffs.

In Conclusion

It is in any person’s best interest to stay within the laws. A criminal charge and conviction of any category and level will always be with you, affecting your everyday life. It can affect your home life with your spouse and children as well as your current or future employment. 

The impression you leave on family, friends, co-workers, neighbors, and the community will forever be affected as well. These are things that will have an effect on your emotional and mental well-being, even if you’re not convicted. If you need advice from an expert on disorderly conduct laws in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL , you can contact Ammediate Bail Bonds at (321) 631-2663 today.

How Much is Bail for a Drug Charge?

drug charges

How much is bail for a drug charge?

For many people, there is a familiarity of how the process works in posting bond after being arrested, especially on drug charge. Bail is set after you have been arrested, then taken to jail where you’re arraigned before a judge. The judge will read the charges and ask you how plea, then they will set bail, the amount needed to get you out of jail. On occasion, a defendant is denied bail. 

The amount of bail on drug charges is set  by the reigning judge who uses several factors to determine the amount, or if bail should be denied. Each state has different levels and each city within the state will have different amount for drug  bail charges. The main factors will be the defendant’s criminal history and the situation surrounding the arrest. 

For example, in Lake County Florida, a drug charge bail can start at $1,000 for a misdemeanor possession of less than 20 grams of cannabis. A drug trafficking charge bail of a controlled substances can have a bail in the amount of $50,000.  Some of the factors that are considered are: 

  • The circumstances of the offense at time of arrest. 
  • The evidence.
  • The defendant’s family ties, length of residence, community reputation, employment, financial resources, and mental stability among other things.

How much time can you get for a drug charge?

It can depend on the drug in possession when arrested. The sentence can be a three year minimum prison time with a possible fine of $50,000 or you could be sentenced to life in prison and no parole. If the defendant was selling any drugs, simply possessing a controlled dangerous substances (CDS) can be charged with drug trafficking.

With an aggressive stance, the State of Florida has 5 schedules for classifying controlled dangerous substances and illegal drugs, basing these classifications  on the medical value and possibility of abuse. The prosecution team typically seek the maximum in  fines and/or jail sentencing. Th schedule of classifications are as follows: 

  • Schedule I: High potential for abuse that have no medical use.
  • Schedule II: High potential for abuse with some accepted medical use, holds severe restrictions.
  • Schedule III: Potential for abuse at a lesser extent than above mentioned with an accepted medical use.
  • Schedule IV: Drugs with a lower possibility of abuse and have accepted medical use.
  • Schedule V: Drugs with the lowest possibility of abuse and have an accepted medical use.

The amount of any drug on a person at the time of arrest will be a considered factor in determining the penalty. The list of drug charges and penalties are: 

  • 1st degree felony for over 10 grams of a Schedule I drug faces 30 years jail sentence with possible fine of $10,000 minimum. 
  • 3rd degree felony for over 10 grams of other CDS is a 3rd degree felony faces 5 years prison time with possible fine of $5,000 minimum.
  • 1st degree misdemeanor for over 20 grams of marijuana faces 1 year prison time with possible fine of $1,000 minimum. 
  • 3rd degree felony for more than 20 grams faces 5 years prison time with possible fine of $5,000 minimum.

Can a possession charge be dropped?

Individuals that are faced with drug charge bail will attempt to have their drug charges dropped. Florida courts and judges are no easy to convince dropping drug possession charges. The assistance of a criminal attorney with experience in drug charges is advised. They will have the experience and knowledge in working with one of the following excuses: 

INSUFFICIENT EVIDENCE

In sufficient evidence is a common defense in Florida. This leaves the state with burden of proof beyond a reasonable doubt. Of elements of a drug charge can be proved by the state, the charges could be dismissed. 

CONSTRUCTIVE POSSESSION

The defense of constructive possession is when cocaine is found in a place where multiple person has had access. This defense is helpful for an attorney post drug charge bail for a defendant because  the state has to prove the accused had knowledge of the drugs and the ability to maintain control.

ILLEGAL SEARCH AND SEIZURE

Another strong defense that criminal attorney and their clients favor that can lead to the drug charges being dropped. The Constitution of the United States requires that law enforcement act with reasonable search or seize. With this constitutional right has been violated, there chance of having the drug charges dropped. 

Other possible ways to have drug charges dropped include Lack of Knowledge, Overdose Defense, Prescription Defense, Temporary Possession, Alibi, and Entrapment.  

Can you get bail on a felony charge?

A defendant that been pre-trial released or on a felony probation when arrested again on a drug charge, denied bail will be ruled by the judge. Or if the defendant has previous arrest for any of the following, drug charge bail will be denied: 

  • Capital felony
  • Life felony
  • Carjacking
  • Sexual battery
  • DUI manslaughter
  • Domestic violence
  • Arson
arrested for drug charges

Can you get probation for a felony charge?

In Florida, a 3rd degree felony doesn’t hold a minimum sentence, but a maximum sentence 5 years prison with possible $5,000 maximum fine. Depending on the crime, the defendant may be required to pay restitution. 

When a person is arrested on a drug charge, the defendant best move is to hire a criminal attorney specializing in drug charges. An experienced attorney can work with the judge to have a reasonable drug charge bail set and have their client released. Call (321) 631-2663 today for your probation bail needs in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL.

What is an illegal weapon?

muzzle of a gun

Identifying an illegal weapon

Being arrested for anything is serious. Then add weapon charges to the arrest, how much more serious does it get? That is what we’re going to discuss here, answering common questions in a way that will provide some plain speak to the subject, starting with what are weapon charges

The general term of weapon charges refers to a wide range of charges involving weapons. Each state has their own statutes, most are sorted into the following two categories: 

  • Possession of specific weapons. A person can be arrested with weapon charges and convicted if they are in possession of a weapon considered to be illegal regardless of whether another person was injured, threatened, or didn’t see the  weapon.
  • Use during another crime. If a person used a weapon, or the weapon was visible,  while committing another crime, such as sexual assault would be upgraded to aggravated sexual assault. 

In the state of Florida illegal weapon charge applies if a person is in possession of a dangerous weapon, discharges a weapon at any school-sponsored activity or event; a felon that is in possession of a weapon; or giving a person of 16 years of age a weapon. 

What is an illegal weapon?

An illegal weapon in U.S., making it a federal law, and is outlined in the Gun Control Act who can own, manufacture, sell, or import firearms to be licensed dealers, importers, and manufacturers. The illegal weapons that can have a person arrested for weapon charges on a federal level are: 

  • Explosives and bombs
  • Machine guns
  • Illegal knives
  • Sawed-off shot guns
  • Stilettos
  • Switchblades

In the state of Florida, weapon charges can result from any person owning or to have in their possession, care, control of, or  custody of the following illegal weapon list with the exception of antique firearms: 

  • Short-barreled rifle
  • Short-barreled shotgun
  • Machine gun  

What is the penalty for having an illegal gun?

The United States of America’s constitution states we the people, have the right to bear arms. The Second Amendment protects this, however, in recent years, may states, like Florida, have passed laws overruling the Second Amendment. The citizens of these states, including many Floridians, have strong feelings and opinions about the issue of firearms possession. 

If a person is confused or uninformed of the Florida state laws regarding firearms, they could find themselves facing weapon charges for any of the following infractions: 

  • possession
  • purchased
  • use of a weapon

The immediate results of these types of weapon charges could be met with:

  • A fine.
  • Incarceration.
  • Weapon(s) confiscated.
  • Restriction of future weapon possessions.

Is possession of a deadly weapon a felony?

In Florida, there are two types of illegal weapon crimes: 1). Gun  2). Weapon Offenses/Enhancements. A weapon charges offense is based exclusively on the fact that accused improperly:

  • Possessed a weapon;
  • Purchased a weapon;
  • Use of a weapon.

A weapon enhancement can increase the penalties of a weapon charges or could require a mandatory minimum prison time if the weapon were used during a violent crime such as aggravated assault, aggravated battery, or in a robbery.

Florida’s most common weapon charges are:

  • unlicensed carry or concealed firearm;
  • improper display of a dangerous weapon;
  • dischargement or possession a weapon at a school-sponsored activity or event;
  • a convicted felon with possession0; and
  • allowing a person under the age of 16 access a loaded firearm.

Punishment for those weapon charges may be:

Possession of  a concealed firearm without a license is a third degree felony with punishments ranging: 

  • up to five years prison time;
  • up to five years of probation; 
  • and/or fines up to $5,000.

Weapon charges for carrying a concealed weapon are similar to carrying a firearm with the exception that the defendant is accused of carrying other weapon than a firearm such as chemical weapon, metallic knuckles, knives, tear gas gun, etc.

This weapon charges crime is a first degree misdemeanor that may be punished by:

  • One year jail time;
  • One year probation; 
  • and/or fines up to $1,000.

A person facing weapon charges for improper display of a dangerous weapon or firearm is for displaying in public a firearm or other dangerous weapon in an angry, careless, rude, or threatening manner with one or more people present. 

This weapon charges crime is a first  degree misdemeanor with punishments ranging as follows: 

  • up to one year jail time;
  • up to one year of probation; 
  • and/or fines up to $1,000.

A person faced with weapon charges for discharging or possessing a weapon at a school for displaying in a dangerous weapon or firearm in an angry, careless, rude, or threatening manner with one or more people present at any school-sponsored activity or event, or on school grounds. 

This weapon charges crime is a third degree felony and is punished by any of the following:

  • up to five years jail time;
  • up to five years of probation; 
  • and/or fines up to $5,000.

A convicted felon facing weapon charges for own, possession, or control of a firearm is an extremely serious offense with punishment ranging:

  • up to fifteen years prison time;
  • up to fifteen years of probation; 
  • and/or fines up to $10,000.
illegal knife

What are examples of weapons violations?

The illegal use of firearm laws in the state of Florida and any of the following are considered a violation, resulting in weapon charges: 

  • Unlawful discharge.
  • Unlawful possession.
  • Unlawful sale.
  • The use of a weapon while committing another crime.
  • Possession of a firearm or weapon while committing another crime.
  • A convicted felon possessing or using a firearm.

Anyone that is facing weapon charges of any level should consult a defense attorney that specializes in weapon charges. These are serious charges and can affect your future employment and life. Call (321) 631-2663 today for your weapons charge bail in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL.

What crimes are violent crimes?

arrested man

How many crimes are violent?

Crime is on the rise in many cities, especially violent crimes. Whether you are the victim of a violent crime vs non violent crime doesn’t matter though. At the time it happens, they all seem violent and unnecessary. A violent crime case study by the Attorney General’s National Task Force on Children Exposed to Violence in 2016 found that almost 60% of the 76 million children in America between the ages of 10 and 24  are victims of abuse and violent crimes. This doesn’t include violent crimes against younger children or adults.

There are 5 criminal offenses considered to be violent crimes. The violent crime for examples are:  

  • Murder and non-negligent manslaughter
  • Rape
  • Robbery
  • Aggravated assault
  • Gang violence
  • Property crime – included in property crime is:  Burglar, Larceny, Motor vehicle theft, Arson

What is the most common form of violent crime?      

The BJS(Bureau of Justice Statistics) and the FBI (Federal Bureau of Investigation) track offenses differently, but both find patterns to be the same overall. In 2019 property crime was reported more than violent crimes with larceny, burglary, and theft of motor vehicle being the most common in that category. 

In the category of violent crimes, the most common was aggravated assault. Robbery, rape, murder, and non-negligent manslaughter followed in that category. As of the data provided by both BJS and FBI, property crime was more common than violent crimes with over 2,000.0 property crimes per 100,000 people report compared just under 400.0 violent crimes per 100,000.  

Are all violent crimes felonies?

When we think about crime, the first that often comes to mind are violent crimes, the most serious of all offenses.  Violent crimes are those where one person is harming or threatening harm with action or weapon another person.  

Based on the severity of a crimes, they  are classified as a felony or a misdemeanor, with misdemeanor being the lesser of the two in terms of seriousness and a felony being the more significant crime with more serious penalty. 

It is the law’s classification that differentiates the two, putting violent crimes in the felony classification. However, depending on the details and factors, some violent crimes may be classified as a misdemeanor.

Violent crimes that involved physical harm to a person are referred to as  “offenses against the person”. One example of this would be when a person commits the battery, a violent crime of attacking another person with fists. Another example would be when a person threatens another person with violence while stealing, also referred to as a robbery. A violent crime doesn’t have to involve any engagement of actual violence, just the threat of it is sufficient to fall into the category of violent crimes. 

Is mugging a violent crime?

Mugging is defined in the Oxford Dictionary as:  “an act of attacking and robbing someone in a public place.”.  As we have discussed earlier in this article, violent crimes are those where one person acts or threatens acts of harm to another person while committing a robbery.  Therefore, yes, mugging is considered one of the many violent crimes we have reviewed. 

Which is not a violent crime offense?

In the State of Florida, the following crimes are not considered non-violent crimes, with circumstances varying that could change the charge from non-violent to violent….

  • Assault.
  • Burglary.
  • Cybercrime.
  • Harassment.
  • Hazing.
  • Robbery.
  • Theft.

Circumstances and factors that can change these non-violent crimes to violent crimes would be a weapon is involved by the person committing the crime or the threat of harm by the person committing the crime to the victim while the crime is being committed. 

arrested for violent crime

What is violent crime compensation?

The State of Florida, like many states, offers victims of violent crimes compensation to victims that received personal injury or is the survivor of a victim killed during the act of a felony or misdemeanor crime that is punishable by  federal or state law. This includes any crime involving a DUI, a hit and run, or any disabled or elderly adult that suffers property loss due to a crime being committed.

There are eligibility requirements including cooperation with law enforcement officials, and any branch of the government dealing the crime. Physical, psychiatric, or psychological injury, must have resulted from the crime, or death of a person that was with or related to the one filing for compensation. 

The victim applying for compensation cannot have been involved or made any contribution to the circumstances of the crime that lead to any death or the injury being reported.  The Florida Crime Information Center will run a criminal history of the person applying for compensation.

Crime of any type is scary for the victim, and violent crimes are especially scary. Depending on the victim, they may require extend time of help psychologically, even physically. These types of crimes are of great concern to this country and the public should take every precaution they can to not become a victim to crime, especially violent crimes. Call (321) 631-2663 today for your bail bonds needs in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL.

Can You Recover From Identity Theft?

Identity Theft Prevents People From Shopping Online.

Can you recover from identity theft?

If you’ve had someone unknowingly charge enormous amounts on your credit card or have ever been a victim of any sort of identity theft, you know how difficult it is to recover that identity. No matter how difficult it might seem, it is possible to recover your identity after it’s been stolen. At minimum you’re going to spend about seven hours recovering your identity. More likely you’re going to spend a day or even several days, and possibly months, recovering it. This means you’re going to spend time contacting banks, governmental agencies like the IRS or driver license departments and other institutions getting your information updated and corrected.

In Florida, if you’ve been charged with identity theft, you’re facing a second-degree felony conviction. If you have been arrested and jailed on identity theft charges or other White collar crimes in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL, you can get immediate bail help from Ammediate Bail Bonds by calling (321) 631-2663.

How identity theft happens

Identity theft occurs in a variety of ways. Someone could steal your wallet or purse, get access to debit and credit cards or driver’s licenses, Social Security cards, or other identity cards and use them to buy things, steal money or commit other fraudulent acts. Others might steal your identity by hacking into social media or other online accounts. Still, others might be desperate enough to hunt for personal information in your trash.

What are the four types of identity theft?

Anytime someone takes your personal data—account numbers, addresses, etc.—you’ve been a victim of identity theft. The types of identity theft include:

  • Medical: This occurs when someone uses your identifying information such as insurance information to get medical care for free
  • Criminal: This occurs when someone gives false information about who they are to law enforcement during an arrest or criminal investigation.
  • Financial: This occurs when someone uses financial information like stolen credit cards or bank account numbers to buy stuff or services or to get other information.
  • Child: This occurs when someone uses a child’s information—Social Security numbers, etc.—for personal gain, including falsifying information for jobs or housing applications.

Can identity theft happen to anyone?

Anyone can steal your identity and anyone can be an identity theft victim. As many as 9 million people in the U.S., according to the Federal Trade Commission, have been victimized by this crime in some form or another. While this crime could happen to anyone, it’s not as common as one might perceive, given it receives so much attention.

How can I find out if someone is using my identity?

Many times people remain unaware their identity has been stolen until serious damage has been done by the thief. Before serious damage occurs, some warning signs to look for include:

  • Unexplained withdrawals appear on your bank account or unfamiliar charges appear on your credit reports.
  • Checks are refused and cards are declined for insufficient funds.
  • Calls come in from debt collectors on debts you don’t owe.
  • Bills or other mail stops appearing in your mailbox.
  • You receive medical bills or health plans reject claims for procedures you didn’t have.
  • You receive notices from the IRS that you filed more than one tax return.
  • Businesses notify you of data breaches at their companies.

What to do if someone steals your identity

If someone has stolen your identity, not only do you want to report the incident to the police but also you want to report it to the Federal Trade Commission, which handles identity theft reports. At the identitytheft.gov website, you can document the theft with a report that proves to businesses your identity was stolen.

You then want to follow up by placing both a one-year and seven-year fraud alert on your credit report through one of three national credit bureaus, Equifax, Experian, or TransUnion. You can also get the credit bureaus to remove any fraudulent information from your credit report. The credit bureaus also must investigate any dispute of information on your report if you send them a written notice of the dispute.

Creditors and debt collectors also have to stop reporting fraudulent accounts when you submit the FTC report to them. You can also request debt collectors stop contacting you.

Gather all the information you can about the fraudulent accounts or transactions. Add these to the FTC report, and also give them to law enforcement to aid in investigations.

The FTC site has a full list of available options to take when trying to recover from getting your identity stolen.

Do police investigate identity theft?

Unless your identity was stolen locally, it’s difficult for local police to investigate and prosecute these crimes. That’s because they often take place in multiple jurisdictions, out of state, or in other countries. Still, it’s good to file a report with the police, along with the FTC. Not only can this help you as you try to recover your identity, but the police can also pass the information along to other agencies when investigations occur.

Are identity theft protection services worth it?

Several companies offer services to protect you from identity theft. While these services claim to protect you from the crime, what most actually do is monitor your information and flag it to alert you if something fraudulent has occurred. They do not stop fraudulent practices from occurring. These services are generally only worthwhile if you have already been a victim of theft or are at high risk or if you don’t think you’ll actively monitor your information yourself.

A Hacker Steals Information.

Can identity theft be expunged?

In Florida, if you are convicted of identity theft, that record currently cannot be expunged from your criminal record. This is true even if someone uses your identity to commit criminal acts but you are mistakenly arrested and charged with the crime. If you have been arrested for identity theft in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL, you can get prompt help with bail by calling Ammediate Bail Bonds at (321) 631-2663.

What causes violent crime?

A Man With a Gun Committing a Robbery.

What causes violent crime?

Violence seems almost too common today, especially violent crime. With seemingly so much violence, people began to search out causes. The problem is, like all crimes, violent crimes like murder and rape have many causes. A person might commit a murder, for example, for revenge or out of anger, whereas rape is often committed as a show of power over the victim. A person might commit a robbery because they need the money or they might assault someone because they have a psychological disorder. While the causes of violence are a varied as the causes of any other crime, violence, or alleged violence often land you in one place—jail. If you’ve been arrested for a violent act and need violent crimes bonds in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL, you can always count on Ammediate Bail Bonds. You can get help 24/7 by calling (321) 631-2663.

What are the four types of violent crime?

While many crimes could be considered violent, under the FBI’s Uniform Crime Reporting program violent crime falls under these four categories:

  • Murder and nonnegligent manslaughter
  • Forcible rape
  • Robbery
  • Aggravated assault

Is domestic violence a violent crime?

Most abusive acts toward a family member, spouse, or domestic partners are considered domestic violence in Florida, not every act is tracked as a violent crime. Some acts such as murder, rape, manslaughter, or aggravated assault are considered violent crimes no matter the situation, but in cases of domestic violence, simple stalking, as well as simple assaults or threats, could also be considered violent crimes.

Is robbery a violent offense?

While thefts are typically classified as property crimes, robbery—a type of theft—is considered a violent crime. That’s because robbery also involves an attack or threat of an attack on a person. Although no injuries may occur, if a person is threatened with violence of any sort when a theft from that person occurs, this is still considered a robbery. In almost every state robberies—no matter how little was taken—are considered felony offenses.

Violent crime vs property crime

Crimes are typically categorized as either property crimes or crimes against a person. Many crimes perpetrated against a person are violent crimes such as aggravated assault or murder.

Property crimes include theft and burglary. Thefts can range from misdemeanor crimes to felonies. The charges largely vary based on the item stolen. Arson is also considered a property crime, although it also could be considered a crime against a person if someone is injured or killed as a result of the fire. Although robbery is a type of theft, it’s considered a violent crime because violence against a person occurs or is threatened.

Which violent crime is the least common?

Although murder gets the most attention when it’s reported, it’s actually statistically one of the least common of violent crimes. Other violent crimes like rape often go underreported, though they might occur fairly often. Rape or sexual assault is statistically one of the least reported of all crimes in all categories. The most commonly reported violent crime is aggravated assault.

Is violent crime up?

Although we see a lot of reports of violent crime in the news and on social media, for almost two decades, according to the Florida Department of Law Enforcement violent crime overall has declined. Between 1998 and 2018—the date of the most recent stats available from the department—show that violent crime has declined almost 40% in this 20-year time period. The department classifies violent crime as murder, rape, robbery, and aggravated assault. As consistent with other reports nationwide, the most common violent crime is aggravated assault. According to the Florida report, more than 55,000 aggravated assaults occurred in 2018, while almost 82,000 violent crimes were reported overall.

Can a violent crime be expunged?

No matter what you’ve been charged with and whether or not you’ve been convicted those charges will be placed on your criminal record. In some cases, such as when you’re seeking employment or trying to get a loan, you might want to want to have that record expunged, or completely removed from the record.

In Florida, if you were convicted of a felony offense, your criminal record can’t be expunged. Most violent crimes like murder, rape, and robbery are felony offenses, and if you were convicted of those offenses, no matter how clean your record is now, the conviction will not be expunged. Only offenses that received no conviction can be completely erased from your criminal record.

A Person in Jail

What is violent offender?

If you are charged with a violent crime like murder or robbery, you will be considered a violent offender. In some cases, getting labeled as such could affect your punishment if you’re convicted. It could also affect you later in life because such offenses, if convicted, stay on your record. If you have been charged with a violent crime in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL and need bail, contact the reliable team Ammediate Bail Bonds for fast, effective help. You can call us 24/7 at (321) 631-2663.

What Are Some Examples of Juvenile Crimes?

What Are Some Examples of Juvenile Crimes?

Are you looking for some examples of juvenile crimes? Please review the following bullet points to learn more.

  • Graffiti and vandalism.
  • Petty theft charges, including shoplifting.
  • Simple assault.
  • Joyriding.
  • Underage drinking violations.
juvenile crime

What are the Most Common Juvenile Crimes?

There are a number of very common juvenile crimes. These crimes can be filed into the top five most common. At the top of the list is shoplifting, which is also known as larceny. This crime category includes petty theft. Petty theft is known as the shoplifting of items that are less than five-hundred dollars in value. The next most common juvenile offense is simple assault. It’s important to note that simple assault is designated differently according to the state that you live in. Next, are drug abuse violations. Underage drinking and vandalism are also common juvenile crimes.

What Causes Juvenile Crime?

There is a multitude of reasons why juveniles turn to crime. Factors that can contribute to juvenile delinquency include poor school attendance, poor educational standards, violence in the home, and violence in social circles. Teenagers that engage in illegal or criminal actions can expect the swift arm of the law when it comes to juvenile crimes. By addressing the factors that contribute to juvenile delinquency at an early age, juvenile crime rates can dramatically lower.

What is Considered a Juvenile Offense?

It’s important to understand the legal language as it pertains to juvenile offenses. For example, in juvenile cases, a “status offense” is issued for conduct that would not be a crime if it were committed by an adult. Status offenses can include underage drinking, violating curfew, and skipping school. As many as twenty percent of cases involving juvenile arrests include status offenses.

Why are Status Offenses Illegal?

Juvenile crime bonds are important to secure after a defendant has been arrested. However, it is important to understand why status offenses are illegal. Status offenses are deemed illegal due to the fact that the individual in question is a minor while the act was committed. As previously mentioned, if an adult committed the same action, the action would not be deemed unlawful. Examples of status offenses encompass truancy, running away, possession and consumption of alcohol, and curfew violations.

What Juvenile Crime

As previously mentioned, the legal terms and their associated meanings will have some precedence in your court hearing. For example, the terms juvenile and delinquent are different. This has implications in state and federal law. Criminal delinquency offenses will include homicide, assault, burglary, and theft. Juvenile crime is often used interchangeably with criminal delinquency.

Can Curfews Stop Juvenile Crime

Many major United States cities want to address the debilitating impact of juvenile crime and are actively searching for ways to snuff it out. One of the projected ways is by initiating curfews for young people. The idea of curfews has been a strong one because if young people are forced to stay indoors at night, they won’t be outdoors causing havoc. According to new research, the results of this theory are mixed. Apparently, instituting a curfew in a city may not reduce the crime rate for juveniles. In some cases, research theorizes that curfews can be counterproductive to public safety.

Who is Responsible for Juvenile Crime

Are you wondering who is responsible for juvenile crime rates? If so, it is important to understand all the underlying influences. Many states have a parental responsibility law. This means that parents are held accountable for juvenile crimes that are committed by their children. Parents, who are known as the people in charge of their child, can be charged with contributing to the delinquency of a minor if they somehow assist in the juvenile crime. This important rule also extends to anyone else who is in charge of the child if, in fact, the parents do not have custody of the juvenile. When the child obeys the law, the parent benefits. The law is intended to support parents who raise their children well, and punish children and thereby families who are disobeying the law. By instituting rules and punishments for parents of children who are found disobeying the law, this is intended to make sure that everyone in the family is involved in the well-being of the child.

juvenile bond

What is Juvenile Crime Definition

Are you wondering what the definition is of juvenile crime? According to the dictionary, juvenile crime is typified as a crime that is committed by young people below a certain age. In the United States and most countries, this specific age is eighteen.

If you or a loved one has been arrested for a juvenile crime in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL, please reach out to us today. We can be accessed with a quick phone call to (321) 631-2663.

What is Considered Disorderly Conduct?

A paper that says disorderly conduct

How bad is disorderly conduct?

Disorderly conduct may be different from state to state, even city to city. Each legal jurisdiction can dictate what is disorderly conduct according to their governing bodies, determine it to be. For this article, we’ll discuss it regarding the State of Florida and what types of disorderly conduct they have established.

In Florida, disorderly conduct is also referred to as a “breach of the peace” and prohibits public acts that are dishonest, unethical, and corrupt to public morals. Any action that disturbs the peace of others or violates public decency standards. 

Being arrested for any criminal offense, including disorderly conduct, has can affect your future in several ways. In addition to possible jail time and/ or probation, it can affect your finances in the form of fines you’ll be charged with a second-degree misdemeanor, and the criminal record you’ll have can cost a loss of job and future employment. 

Under Florida state law, disorderly conduct is a second-degree misdemeanor. It can carry a penalty between sixty days incarcerated or up to six months of probation, and a fine of $500.00. These are statutory maximum penalties a judge has available to sentence a defendant but may not necessarily reflect the possible sentence that will be issued in most cases. 

Jail time for a first time offender is typically under sixty days. Your attitude and conduct during your arrest and before the judge will make an impact. Actions that can lead to longer jail time could stem from being disrespectful or disruptive towards law enforcement or created a reasonable endangerment for the safety of others, especially if there is any involvement of alcohol or drugs.

For the majority of first-time offenders, a disorderly conduct prosecution is permanent on criminal record and includes a probation sentence, that typically includes community service. Repeat disorderly conduct offenders, or for anyone with an extensive criminal history, jail is a probability.

What are disorderly conduct 4 examples?

Common examples of what the State of Florida considers as disorderly conduct include the following:

  • Peace Disturbed
  • Riot Inciting 
  • Altercations by fighting or physically
  • Loitering 
  • Traffic obstruction
  • Use of extraordinarily abusive or obscene language
  • Loud noise or unreasonable noise

What happens when you get charged with disorderly conduct?

Maybe it is just a personal matter that has turned into a heated and loud argument. Perhaps it is a disagreement about a game on television at a bar. Maybe, for some reason, you’re found walking down a street naked. 

These are a few things that could have law enforcement involved. Why? They are considered as disorderly conduct, or in Florida, it may be referred to as a breach of the peace. Either way, you’re going to be arrested and taken to jail. So, what should you do at that point? 

Remain calm, cooperate, be polite, and do not offer more information than you’re asked. This is the most important thing to remember. 

  • Do not argue, interfere, or resist 
  • Do not lie or show fake identification
  • Do not obstruct anything the police are doing
  • Give correct information like your name and birthdate
  • Remember the incident and anyone involved
  • When you’re read your Miranda Rights, state that you choose to remain silent 
  • Ask for an attorney
  • Do not say anything or sign anything until you have an attorney present

In the state of Florida, anyone arrested has one phone call allowed. You’ll need to call a number you have memorized because your phone cell phone will be confiscated at booking. Once your attorney is present, you’ll be put in a private room to talk. Do not hold back in any information, it is crucial your attorney know everything that led up to the disorderly conduct arrest if they are going to be able to defend you. 

What is the penalty for disorderly conduct?

Once you are arrested for disorderly conduct, you will have a public record, but there are more consequences to follow that are worse. A criminal record can keep affect your current employment and keep you from future employment opportunities. A criminal record will keep you from getting loans, including a mortgage, keep you from owning or handling a firearm, take away your right to vote, and lose legal immigration status. 

It is the decision of the office responding if the matter is a disorderly conduct offense and if an arrest is necessary. The district attorney will review the arrest record and decide if any charges should be pressed under Florida Statutes. Public intoxication disorderly conduct is handled differently than other disorderly conduct charges. It is considered a second-degree misdemeanor with a possible conviction that includes a fine and jail time in addition to a permanent criminal record. Anyone charged for disorderly conduct can face six days in jail with a fine of $500.00 maximum. There may be additional fines by the city and county as well.  

man arrested for disorderly conduct

Can disorderly conduct be reduced?

After being arrested for disorderly conduct or any other criminal charges, do not speak to anyone or sign anything until you have an attorney present. Even the most minor offense could leave you with severe consequences. Once you have an attorney and have disclosed the full story with all of the details to them, they may be able to have the disorderly conduct charges lessened or reduced. It is still your word against the arresting officer, but all the facts of the case will be presented to the judge, who will make the final decision. Your criminal record will have a lot of impact on the judge’s decision, so it is your first offense, they will likely reduce the charges and sentence accordingly. Dial (321) 631-2663 today for bail bonds.

Does a DUI ruin your life?

handcuffs, keys, and alcohol

Understanding What Can Happen

Can DUI charges ruin your life? Well, it certainly will not make it a smooth journey. DUI charges aren’t anything to take lightly, even if the DUI charges first offense for you or you think you’re innocent. Driving under the influence will have different consequences in different areas. That’s why it’s important to have someone local who can help when you or a loved one has been hit with DUI charges in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL. Call Ammediate Bail Bonds at (321) 631-2663 or keep reading to learn more.

What is the difference between a DWI and a DUI?

The terms can vary from state to state and in what why they use them. DUI is the acronym used for Driving Under the Influence, and DWI is the acronym used for Driving While Intoxicated. Both of these terms are regarding the same thing, but with each state having their own DUI or DWI laws, they may refer to one. In the state of Florida, the official term used when arresting somebody thought to be drunk while behind the wheel, the acronym used its DUI charges.

driving with an open container of alcohol

How likely is jail time for first DUI?

It is usually the same story, or similar, “I don’t need a ride, I’m fine. Just a beer or two, no problem.” However, in the state of Florida and the DUI penalties, you are not fine, and you should get a ride home. By law, if you are pulled over, you’ll be facing DUI charges and Florida law is tough, even on a first time offense.

In the state of Florida, are dui charges felony or misdemeanor? In most cases, a first time with DUI charges will be considered a misdemeanor. If you have two DUI convictions in the state of Florida, the past ten years of your criminal and driving records will be examined and your charges will be changed to a DWI.

Once you have been arrested, faced with DUI charges in Florida, there is a fairly excellent chance your world will never be the same.  If they convict you of the DUI charges, you could look at six months in jail, a fine of $1,000, and loss of driver’s license for six months. Your DUI conviction will remain on your Florida driving record for seventy-five years with no chance of the DUI conviction being expunged.

Do you lose license for DUI?

With DUI charges and travel, things will change for you. The laws in Florida are unique when it concern DUI charges and the accused’s driver’s license. Once you’re arrested with DUI charges, your license will be suspended immediately. You have ten days to drive to and from work and any business purpose. 

Once the ten days are over, one of the following will happen with your Florida driver’s license, all depending on your previous criminal background and current actions: 

  • Full Suspension
  • Work Only Suspension
  • Reinstated—depending, in part, upon your actions.

How long does a DUI stay on your record?

If you are convicted with your DUI charges in the state of Florida, it will be permanently on your criminal record. In the state of Florida, there is not expunging DUI charges or convictions, nor can the records be sealed.

A conviction of DUI charges will stay on your driver’s license for seventy-five years. Withhold of adjudication is prohibited in Florida. Florida laws are much more strict than other states, where there is a possibility to avoid a formal conviction if another form of punishment is completed within a set time.  The charges aren’t dropped, they simply won’t appear on your record.

How do you bounce back after a DUI?

After you’ve been arrested and have DUI charges, the next few days are rough, even surreal. You realize the disappointment by your family, friends, employer, and even co-workers. You realize the danger you put yourself and other in driving under the influence. You’re afraid of the consequences you have to face legally.

In Florida, where DUI charges consequences are extremely strict, the consequences will not be fun. What you need to remember, there is life after a conviction of DUI charges and there are things you can do to get back on track:  

1.    Lean on family and friends

2.    Join support groups

3.    Seek counseling or therapy

4.    Consider rehab.

5.    Find a new hobby

6.    Re-evaluate your friends and social activities

7.    Apologize to those your DUI charges affect

8.    Accept what you have done and strive to well

9.    Hire an attorney with DUI experience 

gavel and scales

Last Words

In the state of Florida, if a DWI charges or DUI charges case hasnot been filed against you after being arrested, don’t feel you’re free of any legal issues yet. There is a statute of limitations in the state of Florida and until they have expired, those charges could still be filed.

After you’ve hired a DUI/DWI attorney, the main thing you can do is work at changing your life for the better going forward. Take a look at what made you feel you could drive and learn from that mistake. The next time, the situation could be a life or death situation with even harder consequences to face. Dial (321) 631-2663 with any questions you have about DUI charges in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL and the surrounding areas.

What is the difference of theft and robbery?

cc tv capture of theft

The definition of theft

Stealing is stealing, right? Whether it is a robbery or a theft, they both are the equivalent of stealing, so they are the same thing, right? Wrong. In Florida, as most states, both robbery charges and theft charges are property crimes, but the definition theft vs robbery differs, as do the robbery charges or theft charges.

Theft is defined:  

  • Theft is when an individual obtains or uses another person’s property in order to deprive that person use of the property.
  • Theft is when an individual endeavors to obtain or use another person’s property with intention to deprive that person either temporarily or permanently of that property.
  • Theft is also regularly referred to as larceny and depending on the property’s value or the type of items stolen, we can consider even the circumstances related grand theft or petit theft.

Under Florida law, robbery charges are a more serious offense with more serious punishment handed down. Robbery charges are defined:

  • Robbery charges  is the taking of money or property that may be the topic of larceny from the person with intention to deprive that person  temporarily or permanently of the money or property, when done with assault, force, violence or instilling fear in the person. This act of force or violence is why robbery charges are handed down more serious punishment.

Is Robbery worse than burglary?

Yes, even though the two words are frequently interchanged in movies, on televisions, and in books. The criteria, investigating process, and the victim’s implications are different for the two. Descriptions are:

  • Burglary Charges: A property crime, a forcible or unlawful entry of a structure with intention to steal.
  • Robbery Charges: A violent crime against a person using force or threatens force, violence, or instill fear in the victim.

What is an example of robbery?

Taking anything of value from a person is defined as robbery charges if force or violence took place or was threatened.  In a movie, you see a bank robber pointing a gun at bank patrons while taking their money and the bank’s money – this is theft, robbery with violence.  

However, robbery charges under some state’s laws, the behavior while committing the theft can make a robbery,  One example would be one person shoves another person who is walking by and steals their cell phone from them is makes the charges for theft is robbery charges now.

What is the definition of theft in law?

Nolo’s Plain-English Law Dictionary defines theft to be a generic term of any crime in which a person takes personal property from another without consent or permission. 

In some states, with a low property value of the stolen items is a misdemeanor or petty theft. Larger amounts it comes a felony or “grand theft”. Larceny and theft are synonymous, whereas burglary is entering premise unlawfully to take property and robbery is defined as taking property from another person with force, violence, threatening of force or violence. 

Another term of theft would be embezzlement, the stealing from your employer. Along with burglary, means and methods that were used to embezzle or the act of burglary are designated separately as specific crime types, the charges and punishments that can be handed down.

How do theft charges work?

In the state of Florida, to be convicted of a theft, the possible punishment can be jail or prison time plus expensive fines. The worst part of this is the stigma that will follow you the rest of your life. It can have a negative impact on your finances, jobs, the right to vote, obtain a loan, own a firearm, and more. If the stolen product is stolen by Florida law, it is a 2nd degree felony and punishment can include up to 15 years’ jail time and up to $10,000 fine.

arrested person after theft charges

What can a petty theft charge be reduced to?

Based on the money, labor, personal, or actual property value, a petty theft can be reduced to an infraction. Another factor that can affect the charge being reduced is the criminal history of the accused pertaining to theft-related convictions.

No matter whether you perform a burglary, embezzlement, robbery charges, or theft charges, they are all against the law and the punishments can vary. For this reason, it is to the best interest of the accused to hire the best defense attorney possible. 

An experienced defense attorney will have the knowledge of how the court system works and how to get the charges reduced. After the conviction trial, the same attorney can work the system to get the punishment lessened.

A jury will determine the guilt or innocence in most criminal cases, and the judge determines the sentencing phase. The language as to the applicable criminal statute are used for guidance to determine a sentence. Factors that a judge will take into consideration is any factor that are aggravating or mitigating factors for all charges of burglary, robbery charges, or theft charges. Call (321) 631-2663 today when you need bail options for charges in Cocoa and Palm Bay, FL.